أطلق مركز تشكيل مشروع جديد للفنان المشارك في مشروع الممارسات النقدية 2015-2016 فيكرام ديفيشا، وينظم المشروع الجديد تحت عنوان "جلسات بورتريه"، خلال الفترة من 7 سبتمبر ولغاية 13 أكتوبر.

وعلى مدار العام، عمل لبرنامج الممارسه النقدية، عمل فيكرام ديفيشا على نحو وثيق مع الفنانة والكاتبة النقدية "ديبرا ليفين"، ليتوج عمل البرنامج باقتراح مشروع يتساءل عن مكانة القيمة في سياق الزمن والمال.

بدأ العمل بمشروع الرسم "جلسات بورتريه" في 26 يوليو 2016 وسيتواصل حتى نهاية المعرض في 13 أكتوبر 2016. وقام ديفيشا بدعوة طيف واسع من الرسامين غير المحترفين بحسب وصفهم ليكونوا "فنانين" في برنامجه ويرسموا صورته. وتم تقدير المدة الزمنية لكل جلسة رسم بالمدة الزمنية التي يمكن لمبلغ 150 درهم أن يشتريها بحسب المعدل الاحترافي لكل "فنان"، وذلك مع الأخذ بالاعتبار خبرة ديفيشا في دفع هذا المبلغ للعمال كأجر عمل يومي لمدة 9 ساعات والتي تم استخدامها كوحدة أساس لهذا المشروع.* ويتمحور معطى المشروع حول سؤال: ما هي المدة الزمنية الاحترافية القياسية التي يمكن لمبلغ 150 درهم أن يشتريها من الأفراد العاملين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، ضمن مختلف الطبقات المهنية والاقتصادية؟

ومن خلال تزويد المشاركين بورق قماشي مطبوع 65 سم × 50 سم، وألوان أكريليك، وفرش وكافة المستلازمات الضرورية من المتجر الفني الخاص بمركز تشكيل، سيكون ديفيشا هو النموذج الوحيد المقدم للرسم خلال الجلسات. وسيتم اعتبار مجموعة الرسومات كعمل واحد، سيعرض دون ذكر الفنانين الذين وقعوا عقداً للعمل مع ديفيشا في هذا المشروع والذين سيدفع لهم مبلغ 150 درهم مقابل عملهم.

واستناداً إلى خبرته وأعماله السابقة، يمثل مشروع "جلسات بورتريه" انخراطاً متواصلاً مع الأنظمة الاقتصادية وسياقاتها الاجتماعية الواسعة، وهو ما سينتج عنه جوانب جمالية يحددها المتعاونون. وسيتواصل الحوار طوال مدة المعرض، من خلال دعوة المشاركين لرسم صورة شخصية لديفيشا حتى نهاية المعرض في 13 أكتوبر 2016. كل صورة يتم إبداعها خلال العدد التراكمي للجلسات سيتم عرضها في مركز تشكيل ند الشبا خلال الفترة بين 7 سبتمبر ولغاية 13 أكتوبر 2016.

__

*يمكن التوصل لحساب الجلسة من خلال تطبيق الصيغة التالية:

x = (b x c) / a

a = الإيرادات في الشهر / الأسبوع / الساعة بالدرهم الإماراتي

b = ساعات العمل القياسية لكل شهر / أسبوع / ساعة

c = 150 درهم (رسم جلسة الرسم)

X = المدة الزمنية لجلسة الرسم

مبلغ 150 درهم لا يمثل الحد الأدنى للأجر إذ إن الأجر اليومي للعامل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة متفاوت.

نبذة عن فيكرام ديفيتشا

هو فنان وُلد في بيروت ونشأ في مومباي وهو يقيم حالياً في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة. يعمل ديفيتشا من خلال عمليات تصنيعية ونظم حضرية ضمن المجالات الحكومية والاجتماعية والصناعية.

مشاهدة الملف الشخصي

Photo credit: Hadeyeh Badri

Tashkeel is pleased to present Critical Practice Programme 2015-2016 participant Vikram Divecha’s new project, Portrait Sessions, from 7 September – 13 October.

Throughout the year-long Critical Practice Programme Vikram Divecha has worked closely with Debra Levine, and as a culmination to the programme proposes a project that questions positions of value through the context of time and money.

A painting project, Portrait Sessions was initiated on 26 July 2016 and will be completed on the final day of the exhibition – 13 October 2016. Divecha has invited a spectrum of self-identified ‘non-professional painters’ to become ‘the artist’ and to paint his portrait. The duration of each portrait session is determined by how much time AED 150 can buy according to each ‘artist’s’ professional rate, with Divecha’s experience of paying workers this amount as daily wage for 9 hours of work serving as the base unit of labour value for this venture*. The underlying constant of the project is this question: How much standard professional time does AED 150 purchase from individuals working in the UAE, across professional and economic strata?

Providing participants with a 65cm x 50cm primed canvas paper, acrylic paints, brushes and all other necessary supplies from Tashkeel’s art store, Divecha will be the only model during the sessions. The collection of portraits are to be considered one work, and will be exhibited without attribution to the artists who signed a contract to work on this project with Divecha.

Drawing from his past work, Portrait Sessions represents a continued engagement with economic systems and their broader social contexts, with resultant aesthetics determined by the collaborators. The dialogue continues for the duration of the exhibition, with participants invited to paint Divecha’s portrait until the end of the exhibition on 13 October, 2016. Every portrait created during the cumulative number of sessions will be displayed at Tashkeel Nad Al Sheba from 7 September – 13 October, 2016.

__

The calculation for the session can be arrived at by applying the following formula:

x = (b x c)/a

a = Monthly / weekly / hourly earnings in AED

b = Standard working hours per month / week / hour

c = AED 150 (portrait session fee)

x = Duration of portrait session

* AED 150 does not represent minimum wage — the daily wage of a worker in the UAE varies.

About Vikram Divecha

Divecha works with urban processes and systems within state, social and industrial spheres. He situates his practice in these operations to examine, intervene and extract. His sculptural, installation and video works arise from his engagement with the existing material, space and labour.

View Profile