يستضيف مركز «تشكيل» في شهر نوفمبر القادم معرضاً فردياً بعنوان «آفاق متحركة» للكاتبة والفنانة والأستاذة في جامعة نيويورك أبوظبي جيل ماجي، وذلك في تشكيل منزل 10 في حي الفهيدي التاريخي بدبي.

يشمل كتاب " أفاق متحركة " آخر أعمالي من لوحات، ومنسوجات، وتطريزات تجريبية، ومنحوتات وقصائد. يمزج المعرض ما بين الأنواع لتجديد كلٍّ من: اللوحات بجوار الدرزات، والمنحوتات بجوار التطريزات وإلى ما هنالك. وتعتبر أعمال النسيج منحوتات و"رسوماً ناعمة". أمّا الأعمال التشخيصية فأعتبرها مجرّدة إذ إنّ الأشياء تخلو من المحتوى، والأفق والوزن. تتصدّر اللوحات القائمة على الكلمة طبيعة الخطاب والكتابة سريعة الزوال والمعرضة للشرح، وسوء الفهم، والترجمة والمراجعة.

وفي حديثها عن مصدر الإلهام والوحي لهذه المجموعة الفنية، قالت ماجي: "خلال عملي على هذا المشروع، استحوذ دار الفهيدي على تفكيري بغرفه الصغيرة المكثفة التي تتناقض مع فناءه الواسع والمشمس. لذا، تركز المجموعة في أساسها على إيحاءات التراكم – الدرز والتقطيب، والتكرار والترتيب – وتركز أيضاً على فكرة مرور الزمن، إذ يجسد حي الفهيدي عبق الماضي ورائحة الزمن، وأنا أتطلع الى المساهمة في سرد هذا الحوار بين الماضي والحاضر".



جيل ماجي لها باعٌ راسخ في ممارسة مهنتها كشاعرةٍ تجريبية وتمزج كتاباتها، التي غالباً ما وصفها النقّاد بأنها "وثائقية"، ما بين التاريخ والسرد الغنائي. يكسر كتاب "أفاق متحركة" قواعد هذه الممارسة. لا تلتزم هذه الأعمال، وهي ثمرة عملها المتواصل، بمفاهيم الزمان والمكان المتلقّاة كما أنها تعتبر المشاعر والتعمق في السرد مشكلةً ينبغي حلّها عند صعودها مجدداً إلى السطح.


ويعتبر معرض «آفاق متحركة» المعرض الثامن الذي يستضيفه مركز تشكيل في منزل 10 بحي الفهيدي التاريخي. وسيفتتح المعرض أبوابه في الأول من نوفمبر من الساعة 6:30 ولغاية 9:30 مساء، كما سيستقبل الزوار يومي الجمعة والسبت خلال الفترة من 3 ولغاية 25 نوفمبر من الساعة 12:00 ظهراً لغاية 5:00 مساءً، أو من خلال موعد مسبق [email protected]

نبذة عن جيل ماجي

جيل ماغي كاتبة، وفنانة، وناقدة ومعلّمة تؤلف النصوص الأدبية، وتبتكر الصور وتتفنن في النسيج

مشاهدة الملف الشخصي

3 1500X844

This November, Portable Horizons, a solo exhibition by writer, artist, and NYU Abu Dhabi educator Jill Magi, will be on display at Tashkeel’s House 10 in Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood.

Portable Horizons gathers together recent paintings, fabric works, experimental embroideries, sculpture, and poems. The exhibit mixes genres in order to reinvigorate each: paintings next to quilts, sculpture juxtaposed with embroideries, and so on. She refers to textile works as sculptural and “soft drawings”, and to the figurative works as abstract in that the objects are devoid of context, horizon, and weight. The word-based paintings forefront the ephemeral nature of speech and writing—subject to interpretation, mishearing, translation, and revision.

Referring to the inspiration for this body of work, Magi said "While making this work, I had the Al Fahidi house in mind with its intense, small rooms that contrast with its wide-open sunlit courtyard. This body of work is about gestures of accrual—stitching and mark-making, repeating and arranging—and so it is also about the passage of time. Al Fahidi house is imbued with time, and I'm looking forward to contributing to the dialogue between past and present with Portable Horizons".

Jill Magi has a well-established practice as an experimental poet and her book projects, often described by critics as “documentary,” combine history and lyrical narrative. Portable Horizons breaks with this practice. Borne of repetitive labor, these works do not abide by received notions of temporality and location, and they problematise sentiment and narrative depth in their return, again and again, to surfaces.

Portable Horizons marks the 8th display of works at Tashkeel’s House 10 in Al Fahidi Historical Neighbourhood. The exhibition opens on November 1 from 6:30-9:30pm and will be open every Friday and Saturday between November 3-25 between 12-5pm, or by appointment.

About Jill Magi

Jill Magi is a writer, artist, critic, and educator working in text, image, and textile.

View Profile